List of national parks and national forests in Bolivia

Bolivia (i/bəˈlɪviə/, Spanish: [boˈliβja]), officially known as the Plurinational State of Bolivia (Spanish: Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia, Quechua: Bulivya Mamallaqta, Aymara: Wuliwya Suyu), is a landlocked country in central South America. It is bordered by Brazil to the north and east, Paraguay and Argentina to the south, Chile to the southwest, and Peru to the west. Prior to European colonization, the Andean region of Bolivia was a part of the Inca Empire – the largest state in Pre-Columbian America. The Spanish Empire conquered the region in the 16th century. During most of the Spanish colonial period, this territory was called Upper Peru and was under the administration of the Viceroyalty of Peru, which included most of Spain’s South American colonies. After declaring independence in 1809, 16 years of war followed before the establishment of the Republic, named for Simón Bolívar, on 6 August 1825. Bolivia has struggled through periods of political instability, dictatorships and economic woes.

List of national parks and national forests in Bolivia:

1. Aguaragüe National Park and national forests

Aguaragüe National Park and Integrated Management Natural Area (Parque Nacional y Área Natural de Manejo Integrado Serranía del Aguaragüe) is a protected area in Bolivia situated in the Tarija Department, Gran Chaco Province. The national park covers the whole of Serranía del Aguaragüe, the easternmost mayor Sub-Andean range.

2. Amboró National Park and national forests

Amboró National Park in central Bolivia is a nature reserve with over 800 species of birds, over 125 mammalian species including puma, ocelot, and the rare Spectacled Bear. Covering an area of 4,425 km² (1,709 sq mi), it is protected from human settlements, hunting, mining and deforestation, though problems with all these still exist within the park. The Carrasco National Park is placed adjacent to Amboró, and together the two form a larger conservation unit.

3. Carrasco National Park and national forests

Carrasco National Park is a national park in Cochabamba Department, Bolivia. It has a surface area of 6,226 square kilometers. More than 5,000 plant species have been registered in the area, placing the park among Bolivia’s most biologically diverse. It is a protected area and people are prohibited from living inside the park. It was created on October 11, 1991. The park is a mountainous landscape of rivers, waterfalls, gentle valleys and deep canyons. It protects part of the Bolivian Yungas ecoregion.

4. Iñao National Park and national forests

Iñao National Park and Integrated Management Natural Area (complete Spanish title: Parque Nacional y Área Natural de Manejo Integrado Serranía del Iñao) is a protected area in the Chuquisaca Department Bolivia, situated in the provinces of Belisario Boeto, Tomina (Padilla Municipalitiy), Hernando Siles (Monteagudo Municipality) and Luis Calvo (Villa Vaca Guzmán Municipality).

5. Isiboro Sécure National Park and national forests

Isiboro Sécure National Park and Indigenous Territory (Parque Nacional y Territorio Indígena Isiboro-Secure or Territorio Indígena y Parque Nacional Isiboro Secure, TIPNIS) is a protected area and Native Community Land in Bolivia situated between the north of the Cochabamba Department and the south of the Beni Department (Chapare, Moxos, and Marbán provinces). It protects part of the Bolivian Yungas ecoregion.

6. Madidi National Park and national forests

Madidi is a national park in the upper Amazon river basin in Bolivia. Established in 1995, it has an area of 18,958 square kilometres, and along with nearby protected (though not necessarily contiguous) areas Manuripi-Heath, Apolobamba, and (across the border in Peru) the Manu Biosphere Reserve. Madidi is part of one of the largest protected areas in the world.

7. Noel Kempff Mercado National Park and national forests

Noel Kempff Mercado National Park covers 750,000 hectares of land, much of which consists of the Serrania de Huanchaca.[2] The park is located on the Brazilian Shield in the northeast Santa Cruz Department in Bolivia. The Rio de Itenez is its eastern and northern border separating it from the neighboring Brazil.

8. Sajama National Park and national forests

Sajama National Park is a national park located in the Oruro Department, Bolivia. It borders Lauca National Park in Chile. The park lies within the Central Andean dry puna ecoregion. It features a spectacular Andean landscape, with elevations ranging from 4,200 to 6,542 metres (13,800 to 21,463 ft). It contains the snowy cone of Nevado Sajama, the highest mountain in Bolivia. The park also includes the Nevados de Payachata.

9. Torotoro National Park and national forests

Torotoro National Park is situated in the Northern Potosí department, 140 km south of Cochabamba and only accessible by gravel roads and riverbeds, which takes seven hours in the dry season and much longer in the rainy season when sometimes the route becomes completely impassable. Torotoro National Park covers 165 km² and is located at 18° 7′ S and 65° 46′ W in a semi-arid landscape at altitudes between 2000 and 3500 m above sea level, with canyons as deep as 300 meters.

10. La Mauricie National Park and national forests

La Mauricie National Park (French: Parc national de la Mauricie) is located in the Laurentian mountains in the Mauricie region of Québec, Canada. It covers 536 km² in the southern Canadian Shield region bordering the Saint Lawrence lowlands. The park contains 150 lakes and many ponds. The park lies within the Eastern forest-boreal transition ecoregion. The forests in this region were logged from the middle of the 19th century to the early 20th century.

Other National Park and national forests in Bolivia

There’re some other national parks and national forests in Canada, that we don’t have enough time and information to list them here. They are:  Tunari National Park is a national park located in the Cochabamba Department, Bolivia. Cotapata National Park and Integrated Management Natural Area, Kaa-Iya del Gran Chaco National Park and Integrated Management Natural Area and Otuquis National Park and Integrated Management Natural Area.