List of national parks and national forests in Chile

Chile, officially the Republic of Chile (Spanish: República de Chile), is a country in South America occupying a long, narrow strip of land between the Andes mountains to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. It borders Peru to the north, Bolivia to the northeast, Argentina to the east, and the Drake Passage in the far south. Along with Ecuador, it is one of two countries in South America that do not border Brazil. Chilean territory includes the Pacific islands of Juan Fernández, Salas y Gómez, Desventuradas and Easter Island. Chile also claims about 1,250,000 square kilometres (480,000 sq mi) of Antarctica, although all claims are suspended under the Antarctic Treaty.

There are 36 national parks in Chile covering a total area of 9,140,330 hectares:

1. Alberto de Agostini National Park and national forests

Alberto de Agostini National Park is a park located in the Chilean part of Tierra del Fuego. It covers 14,600 km2 (5,637 sq mi) and includes the Cordillera Darwin mountain range. The park is named after Alberto Maria De Agostini, who was an Italian missionary and explorer. Several tidewater glaciers and steep fjords form part of this park. The park also comprises the islands Gordon, Cook, Londonderry and part of the Hoste Island (excluding the Hardy Peninsula and other portions).

2. Bernardo O’Higgins National Park and national forests

Bernardo O’Higgins National Park is the largest of the protected areas in Chile, covering an area of 35,259 km2 (13,614 sq mi) in both the Aisén and Magallanes and Antártica Chilena regions. Management of this and other national parks in Chile is entrusted to Corporacion Nacional Forestal, CONAF. The park is named after General Bernardo O’Higgins, first head of state of the Republic of Chile. Los Glaciares National Park (Argentina) and Torres del Paine National Park are its neighbours to the east, Laguna San Rafael National Park is located to the north, the Alacalufes National Reserve to the southwest and the Katalalixar National Reserve to the northwest.

3. Cabo de Hornos National Park and national forests

Cabo de Hornos National Park is located in the Cape Horn Archipelago, which belongs to the Commune of Cabo de Hornos, in the Antártica Chilena Province of Magallanes y Antártica Chilena Region. It was created in 1945 and includes the Wollaston Archipelago and the Hermite Islands. The park covers 631 km2 (244 sq mi). Management of this and other national parks in Chile is entrusted to Corporacion Nacional Forestal, CONAF. It is the world’s southernmost national park.

4. Hornopirén National Park and national forests

Hornopirén National Park is located in the Andes, in the Palena Province of Chile’s Los Lagos Region. The park contains 482 km2 (186 sq mi) of rugged mountains and unspoiled Valdivian temperate rain forests. This national park borders the northern portion of Pumalín Park. The Carretera Austral passes close to the park. In the vicinity of the park lie Hornopirén and Yate volcanoes.

5. Isla Guamblin National Park and national forests

Guamblin Island (Spanish: Isla Guamblín), also known as Socorro Island, is a Chilean island. It is part of the Chonos Archipelago, although it is some 25 km distant from the other islands of the archipelago, far out in the Pacific Ocean. The island is some 16 km long (north to south) and 8 km wide. It rises to a height of 218 metres. The island is a National Park, and an Important Bird Area. It is a breeding ground of the Sooty Shearwater.

6. La Campana National Park and national forests

La Campana National Park is located in the Cordillera de la Costa, Quillota Province, in the Valparaíso Region of Chile. La Campana National Park and the Vizcachas Mountains lie northwest of Santiago. This national park covers approximately 80 square kilometres (31 sq mi) and is home to one of the last palm forests of Jubaea chilensis (Chilean Wine Palm), which prehistorically had a much wider distribution than at present.

7. Nahuelbuta National Park and national forests

Nahuelbuta National Park is one of the few parks located in La Araucanía Region of Chile’s Coastal Mountain Range. It sits atop the highest part of the Cordillera de Nahuelbuta. Created in 1939, it consists of 6,832 hectares situated just 162 km northeast of Temuco. Nahuelbuta (Mapuche for “big tiger”) is a sanctuary for Monkey Puzzle trees, with specimens dating back 2,000 years. Though these are the only trees you will find at the highest altitudes of the park, you will see coigüe, ñirre, oak, lenga, orchids, carnivorous plants as well as birds like the black woodpecker and mammals like the puma, Darwin fox and pudú (a small Chilean deer) in the lower lying areas.

8. Pali-Aike National Park and national forests

The Pali-Aike National Park is a park located in the Magallanes Region of the Chilean Patagonia. Pali-Aike is a Tehuelche name that means Desolate Place. Created in 1970, it covers an area of 50 km2 (19 sq mi) and includes part of the Pali-Aike Volcanic Field. The park draws its name from a prominent volcanic cone known as the Pali Aike Crater.[1] Human crania from early prehistoric occupation have been recovered from this Pali Aike Crater site.

9. Queulat National Park and national forests

Queulat National Park is a national park of Chile located in the Aysén del General Carlos Ibáñez del Campo Region. The park is bordered by the Cisnes River on the south side and is neighbor to Lago Rosselot National Reserve. It contains 1,541 km2 (595 sq mi) of glacier-capped mountains and virgin evergreen forests. A portion of the Puyuhuapi Volcanic Group form part of the park, specifically the area south of the Lake Risopatrón. The park comprises two small ice fields, with glaciers of up to 12 km (7 mi) long.

10. Radal Siete Tazas National Park and national forests

Radal Siete Tazas National Park is a national park straddling the border between the provinces of Curicó and Talca, Maule Region, Chile. It lies in a pre-Andean area close to Descabezado Grande volcano. The reserve’s most popular feature is the area known as Siete Tazas (Seven Cups), which consists of seven consecutive natural pools with their respective waterfalls along Claro River. These waterfalls range from 1 to 10.5 metres. There are also two high waterfalls called El Velo de Novia (The Bridal Veil) and La Leona (The Lioness), with single vertical drops of 40 and 20 metres respectively.

Other National Park and national forests in Canada

There’re some other national parks and national forests in Canada, that we don’t have enough time and information to list them here. They are:  Alerce Andino, Alerce Costero, Archipiélago de Juan Fernández, Bosque de Fray Jorge, Chiloé, Conguillío, Corcovado, Huerquehue, Isla Magdalena, Laguna del Laja, Laguna San Rafael, Las Palmas de Cocalán, Lauca, Llanos de Challe, Llullaillaco, Morro Moreno, Nevado Tres Cruces, Pan de Azúcar, Puyehue, Rapa Nui, Salar del Huasco, Tolhuaca, Torres del Paine, Vicente Pérez Rosales, Villarrica and Volcán Isluga national park.